Uncategorized

Oracle JET Lessons Learnt 1: Don’t enforce your coding standard

I’ve been playing with Oracle JET (and Oracle Mobile Cloud Service) to build a demo application for a customer (I’ll post on that later). I’ve learnt a few things along the way and I’ll post these under Lessons Learnt for all to share.

One of the issues I ran into whilst building my JET app is that I hate the coding standard the JET team seems to use. They like curly braces on a new line and I prefer them on the same line. Now this is normally just one of those vi vs emacs style debates, but after fixing the auto-generated main.js file to suit my style I ran into a problem. When I went to build my code for release (using grunt build:release --platform=ios) I got an error in the uglifyjs task (Unexpected token: punc ({).

Turns out the `//injector:mainReleasePaths` and `//endinjector` comments in the main.js file actually do something! The JET build process will insert the paths from your main-release-paths.json file between these two comments. If you fiddle with the location of the curly braces then the generated code will be invalid.

So lesson learnt: you can enforce your standard on JET, but watch out for injector comments in main.js!

Leave a Reply

